The Croft Nostalgia weekend returned in style (3/4 September) and even a wet and drizzly Saturday could not spoil a great weekend of historic motor sport, supported by a whole range of off-track activities.

The Historic Sports Car Club’s package of racing delivered the on-track action where the headline star was young Samuel Harrison who won four of the weekend’s races and secured the Historic Formula Ford title in the process.

Classic Clubmans opened the racing on Saturday, just as light rain started to fall. Unfortunately, Adrian Holey went off into the gravel trap at the first corner prompting a red flag and at the restart Trevor Welsh in his Sports 2000 Lola was in a league of his own and won at a canter on his home track.. On Sunday, Welsh led early on but Clive Wood was able to move ahead on a dry track and win.

An excellent grid of Historic Road Sports cars delivered two entertaining races in vastly differing weather conditions. On Saturday, John Davison (Lotus Elan) and John Shaw (Morgan Plus 8) pulled clear of the field with Davison going on to win by nearly half a minute. On Sunday, Kevin Kivlochan’s Cobra was a much happier beast, but Davison still had the legs to win commandingly as Kivlochan pushed Shaw back to third.

The Historic Formula Ford 2000 Championship races were all about the title contest between Benn Simms and Graham Fennymore and it was Simms who won the opener on a wet and slippery track. Simms was aided when Fennymore spun into the Complex on the first lap and dropped back. On Sunday, after a red flag, Simms’s start was deemed to be too good and he picked up a 10s penalty which dropped him to fifth in the results. Instead, Fennymore took the win from the on-form Drew Cameron.

The only single race of the weekend was the 40-minute enduro for the Guards Trophy and it was Simon Jackson, racing his Lenham P70 solo this time, who took control and ran out a healthy winner with a 22s margin over the Chevron B8 of Steve Nuttall. John Davison was the best of the GT cars in his Lotus Elan 26R.

Jeremy Clark was the star of the 70s Road Sports races, winning twice in both wet and dry conditions. On Saturday, he was headed on the road by the 80s Production Vauxhall Carlton of Cliff Butler. But in the dry on Sunday, Clark was peerless in his Lotus Elan and won at a canter as Antony Ross brought his TVR 3000M up into second.

The opening Aurora and Geoff Lees Trophy race took in the worst of the conditions on Saturday and two red flags led to the result being declared after two racing laps. At the time Richard Evans was narrowly leading in his March 782 from the Formula Atlantic Ralt RT4 of Rory Smith. In the dry on Sunday Evans led briefly before retiring the March and it was Smith who took over to win, but not by much as Graham Ridgway in his March 742 finished less than four seconds down.

Racing on his home track, Samuel Harrison was the star of the Historic Formula 3 Championship as he took two commanding wins in his Chevron B15. In both wet and dry conditions, Harrison won by around 40 seconds. On Saturday, behind Harrison, Josh Sharp and Simon Armer battled for second and it was Sharp who got the nod by just over half a second. On Sunday, Armer was able to turn the tables and take second by three quarters of a second with Peter Hamilton’s Tecno chasing them home.

Harrison also starred in the Historic Formula Ford Championship races to take a double win and secure the 2022 crown. In Saturday’s rain he won by nearly 40s as Oliver Chapman’s Lola took second. On Sunday, Harrison did it again but this time it was Callum Grant who starred by bringing his Merlyn from the back of the grid to second over Rob Smith and Chris Porritt.

Both Classic Formula Ford Championship races ran on in the dry of Sunday and it was Grant who completed a fine weekend with a double victory. In the opening race, a fine three-way lead battle also involved Tom MacArthur and Jordan Harrison but, unfortunately, they tangled on lap 10 and that brought out the red flag. At the end of Sunday afternoon, Grant had things a little easier as MacArthur and Harrison both started from the back of the grid.

From a good grid of Historic Touring Cars, it was the Minis that dominated in Saturday’s rain as Barry Sime narrowly led Philip House home. Roger Godfrey and Steve Youle battled for third while Neil Wood, Mark Watts and Warren Briggs were all further back as they struggled in their various Fords. In the dry on Sunday it was Wood’s Anglia that moved ahead of the Minis and win at a canter as Briggs brought the Mustang through to second place.