70s Road Sports

The 70s Road Sports Championship does exactly what it says on the tin. It is a race series for road-legal production sports cars produced and registered in the 1970s.

Some minor modifications to engines and suspension are permitted, but bodyshells must remain standard. For a full list of eligible cars see the “Eligible Weights” document on this page. The result is a huge and varied field, packed with Porsches, Datsuns, MGs and many more marques. Extra Championship points are awarded for cars driven to and from the circuit on the road.


NOTE: The Spa-Francorchamps races are non-championship

Eligible Cars

The HSCC 70s Road Sports Championship is for competitors participating in genuine production Sports, GT and two door Coupe cars built or road-registered between 1/1/70 and 31/12/79.

Cars built or road-registered in the 1980s, and late 1960s (subject to approval with the HSCC Historic Road Sports Championship), which are precisely the same specifications as the 1970s model will be considered for acceptance by the Committee.

Proof of original road registration is required but this may be from other than UK authorities. A list of eligible cars is available with the relevant minimum weights and this list forms part of these regulations. Other cars may be eligible subject to proof of series production in period as Sports, GT and two door Coupe cars.

Excluded from this Championship are all lightweight, high performance or competition versions, together with any one-off specials. The organisers reserve the right to exclude or reclassify any car they feel does not comply with the intent of the Championship Regulations.

All cars in classes A to E must have current HSCC Vehicle Identification Forms approved by the Registrar. The condition of cars must remain road legal, in all respects except tyres where taken from List 1C and if Road Driven must have current valid road tax and insurance. All documentation must be available at events entered, produced at scrutineering and when required at post-event checks.

Cars must at all times be entered in a presentable manner, in the true spirit of 70s Road Sports, including sponsors decals. Non-period and gaudy colour schemes in the view of the Committee are not acceptable.

Additional championship points are awarded to competitors who drive their car to and from the circuit (from their place of residence or permanent storage facility of car). Only minor modifications are permitted.

Class Structure

Class A All cars over 3001cc

Class B All cars 2001cc to 3000cc

Class C Lotus 1600 Twin cams (Elan, Europa, and Seven)

Class D All cars 1501cc to 2000cc

Class E All cars up to 1500cc

Class I Invitation Class – Solely to encourage competitors to join the 70s Championship.

Road Sports, GT and two door coupes from the same era may be accepted at the invitation of the HSCC. A Vehicle Detail Form (VDF), available from the Office, will need to be completed at least four weeks before the event; an offer of acceptance or refusal will then be given within seven days.


1994 Series of races
1995 Richard Thorne (Lancia Beta Coupe)
1996 Andy Shepherd (Lotus 7)
1997 Peter Gregory (Datsun 240Z)
1998 Jason Kennedy (Lancia Beta Coupe)
1999 Des Fitzgerald (Lotus Elan)
2000 Adam Bagnall (Triumph GT6)
2001 Charles Barter (Datsun 240Z)
2002 Adam Bagnall (Triumph GT6)
2003 Adam Bagnall (Triumph GT6)
2004 Richard Thorne (Morgan Plus 8)
2005 John Thomason (Triumph Spitfire)
2006 John Thomason (Triumph Spitfire)
2007 Rory Stockbridge (Lotus Europa)
2008 Ian Jacobs (Jensen Healey)
2009 Julian Barter (TVR 3000M)
2010 Peter Shaw (TVR Tuscan)
2011 John Thomason (Triumph GT6)
2012 John Thomason (Triumph GT6)
2013 Oliver Ford (Lotus Europa)
2014 Peter Shaw (TVR Tuscan)
2015 Jim Dean (Lotus Europa)
2016 Julian Barter (Lotus Elan and Lotus Europa)
2017 Charles Barter (Datsun 240Z)
2018 Jeremy Clark (Lotus Elan)
2019 Jeremy Clark (Lotus Elan)
2020 Jeremy Clark (Lotus Elan)







Championship Chairman: Charles Barter



Championship committee

Class A: Mark Bennett

Class B: Charles Barter

Class C: James Dean

Class D: Mark Oldfield

Class E: David Tomkinson


Championship Registrar: Ted O’Day: