The Historic Sports Car Club has again been recognised in the build up to the prestigious Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards.

The awards celebrate the historic motor sport year and the HSCC’s Legends of Brands Hatch Super Prix has been shortlisted into the final three for the ‘Competitive Event of the Year’. Last year, the HSCC’s Historic Formula 2 FIA International Series was named ‘Race Series of the Year’.

In addition, the HSCC/FJHRA Formula Junior Championship has been shortlisted in the ‘Race Series of the Year’ award after another tremendous season for the most popular historic racing category in the world.

In July 2020, the HSCC’s Brands Hatch event kick-started the 2020 historic racing season as the sport began to emerge from the ravages of the COVID-19 pandemic. More than any other, this was the event that proved that historic racing could restart while staying firmly in line with UK government and Motorsport UK rules and guidelines in the face of the global pandemic.

A super-human effort by the HSCC team, supported by a raft of experienced volunteers, and working in partnership with Motorsport Vision and over 330 competitors delivered an outstanding event on the superb Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit.

The event drew glowing praise from many competitors, marshals and spectators and brought a wonderful sense of normality and camaraderie back into the lives of many after more than three months of lockdown.

Andy Dee-Crowne, CEO of the HSCC said: “To be recognised two years running is a significant achievement for the Club. The Super Prix this year was a huge success as the first major historic race meeting post lockdown. Whatever the outcome, my thanks go to the office team, the volunteers and marshals and of course to our members, for getting us into the final three. Last year we lifted the coveted first prize for Best Series, Historic Formula 2, and I hope to be in a position to add the Competitive Event category this year.”

The final results of the Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards will be announced on 28 January.