Wednesday 30 November 2016

The Historic Sports Car Club’s Historic Formula Ford Championship will race at the Silverstone Classic next July as part of a superb calendar marking the 50th anniversary of the category.

The high-profile date at the world’s biggest classic racing festival, the Silverstone Classic (28-30 July), joins the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit meeting on 1/2 July at the heart of the season for the cars from the early years of Formula Ford. The HSCC championship is for pre-1972 cars and has enjoyed a record season in 2016, capped by a 50-car entry for the final round at Silverstone in October.

The provisional 2016 calendar is:
8 April Donington Park
20/21 May Silverstone GP
17/18 June Cadwell Park
1/2 July Brands Hatch GP
28-30 July Silverstone GP
5/6 August Croft
26-28 August Oulton Park Intl
23 September Snetterton
14/15 October Silverstone National

Grahame White, CEO of the HSCC, says that the plan is to run two grids at most meetings in 2017, with a target of 50 entries for every round of the championship. There will be some double-headers, giving as many as four Historic Formula Ford races over a weekend. However, the two Silverstone GP circuit events will feature one grid as the grid capacity is 54 cars.

“Even though we are permitted to start 54 cars on the full Silverstone Grand Prix circuit, we are still expecting to be over-subscribed at the Silverstone Classic, such will be the demand to be part of this wonderful event,” said White.

Nick Wigley, CEO of Silverstone Classic organiser Goose Live Events, is equally excited about welcoming Formula Ford to the event. “Formula Ford has played such a major role in global motor sport history and the careers of just about every young racing driver. What’s more, it’s going to be another real crowd-pleaser, with lots of incredible wheel-to-wheel action, something for which Formula Ford racing has always been renowned.”

The Historic Formula Ford category was created by the HSCC in 1992 and the inaugural champion in 1995 was Bryan Hayward (Lotus 61). As many as seven former champions, with 15 titles between them, remain active in the category.