Don't forget to book a place at the Silverstone International Supper Party in the BRDC Clubhouse on 20th May. Entries open for CCRC meeting on 1st May for HF3 and Classic Clubmans at Castle Combe.


A fabulous capacity field of 44 pre '66 GT cars will contest this year's HSCC Autosport three-hour race at Snetterton on Saturday 7 June as the event celebrates the 50th anniversary of the final edition in the original sequence of three-hour races.

The 44-strong field will be the biggest grid in the history of the annual Historic Sports Car Club race and comes as a result of a partnership with the GT and Sports Car Cup. The field includes ten Jaguar E-types as well as AC Cobras, Bizzarrinis and lots of smaller-engined cars including MGBs, Porsches, Lotus Elans and Morgans.

Leading drivers include Alex Buncombe, Sam Hancock, Chris Ward and Matt Nicol-Jones in Jaguar E-types, Andrew Haddon (AC Cobra) and Scottish trio Tony Wood, Alasdair McCaig and Andrew Smith in a Lister Jaguar. Eight cars will be driven by family teams, including fathers and sons, fathers and daughters and married couples.

"This is great news and much credit must go to Flavien and Vanessa Marcais from the GT and Sports Car Cup for supporting the race," said Grahame White, CEO of the HSCC. "The change of format to making the race solely for GT cars has certainly rejuvenated the event." The entry is split roughly in half between cars from the GTSCC and cars from the HSCC's Guards Trophy.

It is hoped that Jack Sears, who won the 1964 race at the wheel of an AC Cobra, will be on hand to present the awards at the end of the race. His daughter Suzanne will contest this year's race in an MGB. The grid is thought to the biggest since the original Autosport three-hours ran at the Norfolk track in 1957.

Winners of the original Autosport three-hours

1957: Ken Rudd (AC Ace)

1958: John Lawry (Lotus Elite)

1959: Jim Clark (Lotus Elite)

1960: Dickie Stoop (Porsche 356B)

1961: Mike Salmon (Jaguar D-type)

1962: Mike Parkes (Ferrari 250 GTO)

1963: Jim Clark (Lotus 23B)

1964: Jack Sears (AC Cobra)

2013 © Except where individually acknowledged all photos on this web site are courtesy of Charlie Wooding and copyright to him.