Don't forget to book a place at the Silverstone International Supper Party in the BRDC Clubhouse on 20th May. Entries open for CCRC meeting on 1st May for HF3 and Classic Clubmans at Castle Combe.

Snettpreview The annual Autosport Three-Hour race will headline the Historic Sports Car Club's race weekend at Snetterton (1/2 June), with a 24-car field gathered for the race that re-creates one of the Norfolk track's most popular events of the 1960s.


Cars from the HSCC's Guards Trophy will line up for a three-hour enduro and most will have two drivers. However, planning to race solo is former winner Nick Fleming in his Chevron B8 and the hard-charging Scot will surely start favourite for another victory.


Six more Chevron B8s will offer a big challenge to Fleming with some very rapid drivers on board, including Andrew Newall/Andrew Hall, Neil Burroughs, Charles Allison/Phillip Nelson, Chris Lillingston-Price and father and son pairings Andrew and James Schryver and Joe and Piers Ward.


In the open-cockpit cars, it is Callum Macleod who will really fly as he shares the Elva Mk7S of Oliver Eaton, while pacesetters among the GT cars will be the TVR Griffith of Martin O'Connell/Bob Brooks, the Jaguar E-type of Chris Scragg and the Lotus Elan of David Holroyd and John Muirhead.


Saturday's programme also takes in double-headers for Historic Road Sports, 70s Road Sports and Historic Formula Junior, with Roger Waite (Lotus Elan) and Julian Barter (TVR 3000M) topping the Road Sports entries.


Another fabulous Formula Junior entry is led by Jon Milicevic (Cooper T59) and drivers like Jack Woodhouse (Lotus 22), James Murray (Lola Mk5A), Peter Morton (Lightning Envoyette) and Denis Welch (Lotus 22) will be battling to keep on the tail of the flying Milicevic. Among the front-engined cars will be the rare sight of two U2 Mk2s together in the hands of Ray Mallock and Brian Mitcham.


Sunday's programme has a strong single-seater flavour, with double-headers for Historic Formula Ford, Classic Racing Cars, Historic Formula Ford 2000 and Classic Formula 3.


An excellent field for the SG Machining Solutions Historic FF2000 race is topped by defending champion Nelson Rowe (Reynard SF79), but 18-year-old Callum Grant will be chasing hard in his Delta T78. Meanwhile, a fine FF1600 entry will surely deliver another thriller with Benn Simms (Jomo JMR7), Sam Mitchell (Merlyn Mk20) and David Wild (Lola T200) among the major players for the race that includes the Norman Greenway Trophy in honour of the long-standing race commentator.


The Classic Racing Car field includes several welcome visitors from Australia, including the unique Holden-engined Alton AR1 of Henry Oosterbarn and the Brabham Jane of Lance Carwardine. In Classic F3, the ex-Martin Brundle Ralt RT3 of Graham Fennymore will surely set the pace.


Completing Sunday's programme are double headers for the ByBox Historic Touring Car Championship and Classic Clubmans. With one or two of the fastest V8s missing from the entry, the Lotus Cortinas of Tim Davies and Neil Brown could be to the fore in Touring Cars, while the Clubmans field is awash with experience from category aces like Ray Mallock, Malcolm Jackson and John Harrison as well as regular pacesetter Mark Charteris.


On Saturday, the first of seven races will start at 11.15 after qualifying from 9am. The Autosport three-hour race will start at 15.20. On Sunday, the first of 12 races will start at 11.15 after qualifying from 9am. Adult admission is just £13 per day and children under 12 are admitted free.


2013 © Except where individually acknowledged all photos on this web site are courtesy of Charlie Wooding and copyright to him.