Don't forget to book a place at the Silverstone International Supper Party in the BRDC Clubhouse on 20th May. Entries open for CCRC meeting on 1st May for HF3 and Classic Clubmans at Castle Combe.


Friday 12 December 2014


HSCC unveils superb Historic Formula 2 calendar


The Historic Formula 2 International Series will have a superb calendar of events in 2015, covering five of the best tracks in Europe in a 10-race schedule at circuits with a period Formula 2 heritage.

The Historic Sports Car Club, which manages the series, has delivered a calendar that runs at high-profile historic festivals and offers competitors a good range of dates with five double-header race weekends evenly spread across seven months and visiting four countries. Three of the five events will also feature rounds of the FIA Masters Historic Formula 1 Championship.

At a time when historic race car values continue to climb, Historic Formula 2 offers outstanding performance with realistic car values. The category has a fine heritage and the championship is open to 1600cc and 2000cc Formula 2 cars, starting from 1967 and running right through to the end of 1978, as well as 1600cc Formula Atlantic and Formula B cars. Later cars, designed to employ ground-effect technology, are not permitted. Over 40 drivers scored points in 2014 and the signs are that support will grow further in 2015.


The 2015 F2 calendar is:
May 2-4: Donington Historic Festival
June 19-21: Monza Coppa Intereuropa
July 11/12: Brands Hatch Super Prix
August 28-30: Zandvoort Historic Grand Prix
October 2-4: Dijon Motors Cup


"We are very, very pleased to unveil the Historic Formula 2 calendar," said Grahame White, CEO of the HSCC. "I think we've got a perfect set of events at wonderful tracks across Europe."

In period, Formula 2 was the proving ground for young drivers heading for Grand Prix racing. European Formula 2 champions of the era included Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Clay Regazzoni, Ronnie Peterson, Jacques Laffite and Bruno Giacomelli. Other drivers to make their mark in Formula 2 included Jim Clark, Jochen Rindt, Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart, Niki Lauda, Jody Scheckter, Ricardo Patrese and Keke Rosberg.

2013 © Except where individually acknowledged all photos on this web site are courtesy of Charlie Wooding and copyright to him.